feathering by machine

Another machine embroidery piece.  I love this medium!  I can’t imagine you are as impressed with my machine embroidery as I am, but I am having sooooooo much fun.  This feather took less time to create than the pound cake I made today took to bake!  It is about 4 1/2″ high done in cotton thread on linen.

I need to find another application for this.  I have several pieces waiting to be made into book covers!

Here are a couple of hand embroidery done this past week.  I was pleased with them.  I took my doodling of the animals down to the simplest swirl I could.  I have a couple more designs I want to do.  Wouldn’t they be sweet in a baby boy’s room, maybe made into a quilt?  But that means lots more animals.  That’s probably not gonna happen.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “feathering by machine”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Wonderful – I think they could be good for a baby girls room as well! Maybe the cover for a baby memories book???

  2. Karen Owen Says:

    Those animals are so sweet! I say keep going and make a quilt.

  3. Katie Says:

    Love these! I have been looking everywhere for a safari quilt! I am having a baby this May and my nursery has a neutral vibe which tends to be the opposite of EVERYTHING out there! I wish there were embroideries (handmade quilts) out there like yours that are simple but unique and tranquil. 🙂 Love them!

  4. jan marshall Says:

    I love the simple charm of your animals. I am teaching embroidery to a group of 10 year olds. Could I use the giraffe design for the students?

Leave a comment