a field of flowers in honor of spring

Seems like most people who embroider realistically or stylized, have done a field of flowers.  They seem to go hand and hand.  This is my obligatory, albeit truncated field of flowers from a photo taken at the Atlanta Botanical Gardens.  It is all machine embroidered and took me several hours to complete.  I look at it and wonder what kind of handwork might enhance it.  Hmmmm…  I just don’t know.

Here is a technical question for you.  I did this on linen dressmaker’s fabric with a fairly tight weave (I love this fabric!).  I scanned it into photoshop and it has a moire effect.  How do I get rid of the moire effect?  At over 50% (at 200 dpi)  it goes away on my screen but that image size is too large to place on the internet.  I made the image above larger to help eliminate it.  I am computer ignorant and self taught at photoshop so please don’t laugh too loudly when you give me the simplest of solutions….

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “a field of flowers in honor of spring”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    No help on the photoshop info – hopefully Tommye will know

    The embroidery is beautiful. I undertand the need for some hand embroidery – maybe to bring more sharpness to certain areas???

  2. Karen Owen Says:

    I don’t know if this will work on fabric, but when scanning printed material it helps to turn the page at an angle. So try scanning the fabric piece that way – just place it sort of diagonally on the scanner. Sometimes you have to try different angles until you get it right. Also, you could choose the descreening option in your scanner software. That might work.

    This embroidery is gorgeous. A few french knots here and there might be a nice handwork addition.

  3. tommye scanlin Says:

    Lauren… unfortunately, I can’t help you with the Photoshop question! I’m a self-taught Photoshopper–and Elements, at that!
    Have you thought of painting on the fabric before stitching it? A lovely watercolor-y effect with thinned fabric dyes?

  4. laurenfinley Says:

    Thanks, Jennifer. I am pondering it.

    Karen, I think this would work. I played with it slightly and it does make it scan differently. I guess the light hitting it at an angle to the weave makes the difference?? I haven’t looked for the descreening option in the scanner yet. Thanks. You win the prize for the day! I’ll wrap it up and give it to you for your birthday! 🙂

    Tommye, have you ever seen Hollis Chatelain’s work? She used procion dyes to paint her fabric and then uses thread to define, color and enhance her wonderful whole fabric quilts. I fell in love with her work several years ago after seeing it on a quilting show.

  5. Kathy Spoering Says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing the response to your question, because that moire effect is a real problem when I photograph oil paintings! The only solution I have found for it is to move the object to a room with morning northern light, as opposed to the southern light in afternoon or evening in my southern exposed studio. It seems to be a light thing, and I can’t figure out a Photoshop fix, either, so just keep shooting in different light until it’s no longer there.

Leave a Reply

