first prints from my baby press

 

I haven’t had the time to carve any new linoleum blocks but I so wanted to play with my new Utrecht Baby Press, so I used very old blocks and tried printing.  Theses were the best of the bunch.  I like the bird printed on watercolor testing scraps, a leftover from architectural rendering and trying to find an ideal paint color for siding on a house.  See, there is a reason I save scrap paper!  Who can tell me who the gentleman is?  Anyone?  (I hope so, means my portraiture skills need improving if you cannot tell that is Wm. Shakespeare!)first-printing-with-baby-prI think the press does a pretty good job of making contact with the paper.  I also played with “engraving.”  I drew on aluminum foil in preparation for my children’s Bible study class and then rubbed ink on the engraved side and ran it through the press.  It actually made an image!  I am going to buy some heavy duty foil and try it again!

For 2013, those same Bible study kids made a block printed calendar from drawing on styrofoam plates.  Here are three randomly selected months.  They are all wonderful and I love seeing the calendar hanging in my kitchen!February-2013 May-2013 July2013

Wondering why 27 is not showing up in July???  Hope I fixed that on the final printing!

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “first prints from my baby press”

  1. Anne George Says:

    Lovely! I must try out hand printing holiday cards this year.

Leave a Reply

