better nate than lever…

I am a bit behind, but…  Merry Christmas!  I hope your holidays have been lovely.  My month has been busy, and I am sorry I have removed myself from this blog for so long.  I have not even checked it since my last post!  But I have done some art and since Christmas is past, I think I am free to show you some commissioned work.

a pencil drawing –

ellen 2

another pencil drawing –

Olivia and Veronica for Mary Ann Clayton 2

and a watercolor of the same cute girls  (not a very good photo, though) –

Olivia and Veronica watercolor

And a watercolor portrait done a few months ago that I never shared with you.  Was holding off until the big reveal and then just didn’t…  until now.  I am pleased with this, actually I am pleased with them all.   I force myself to look critically at my work and when I  see my errors and able to fix them (based on learned knowledge), I am a happy camper.

For Elizabeth Harper 2

My daughter introduced me to QI, a British TV show with Stephen Fry.  It is very funny although extremely crude (by American ‘Southern States’ standards anyway) and one episode shows what is called “the Thatcher Effect.”   I think this is the same idea of turning your portraits upside down and viewing them for errors.  (There is a post somewhere in this blog that talks about that.)  Watch QI on youtube for a good laugh when you have time but if you are offended easily, be forewarned!

My title was taken from an old joke.  Do you know it?

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “better nate than lever…”

  1. Tommye Cashin Says:

    Happy to see you back. I miss your Mother being in my life.

  2. Beth MacKinney Says:

    Thanks for sharing. I particularly liked the watercolor of the girls. (Watercolor always impresses me because it’s just not my cup of tea!)

    • laurenfinley Says:

      Thanks, Beth! Happy New Year! I like watercolor because I am lazy and there is little prep. I would rather paint in oils…

  3. Joseph Le Says:

    It is very nice to see that you are back & posting ! I love passing some time reading/viewing during my breaks @ work. Happy New Year to you & the family.

Leave a Reply

