a week at the beach

I have some close friends who offered to let us stay at their house on Panama City Beach this past week.  It was nice to get away and while I have always found the Atlantic Coast more interesting because of the marshes, the beach and weather here were perfect.  I spent a lot of time watercoloring, avoided a rattlesnake in my path,  crossed a red river (Inlet really.  Deep, deep beautiful red) and survived biting flies (yes, it felt like living through the plagues of Egypt, but luckily, it stopped there).  Here are some quick sketches (done while son and husband were waiting on me).

Rosemary Beach green.  First time I had gone to Rosemary Beach.  Beautiful architecture, would love to design a house there, if you are thinking of building one.  It did feel a bit claustrophobic to me though.  Great bookstore.  Didn’t go to Watercolor.  Wonder if there are great spots to watercolor there???  Wonder who chose the name Watercolor for a development???

The Beach.  Would have like to have spent more time painting this, but those pesky flies kept biting my ankles.

Sitting on the porch of a house built in 1890 something (now a state park), looking at the fountain.  Nothing about this sketch is good, showing it to you anyway.  Wish I were a little better at quick landscapes and live oak trees.

Sitting on the deck at the house where we stayed.  Loved looking over the rooftops. Wires aren’t very straight.  I swear, they look straighter in he original.  Must be that rough paper….

Another rooftop view.  I spent longer working on this one.  Hope you can tell!  Left out about 9 high rises.  I think that is why I like the Atlantic Coast.  No high rises.   My husband worked for the firm that designed of few of these omitted buildings.  Still don’t like them.

Thank you, Blanch, Mike and Peggy!!!  Nice to have such generous friends!

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “a week at the beach”

  1. Joseph Le Says:

    Dreamy water colors, makes me wish I was on vaction ! I heart the beach painting esspecially, brings back memories 🙂

  2. Marylea Remkus Says:

    Really beautiful…I saw a face in the trees. Maybe your sweet momma looking down from Heaven.

  3. Elisa Says:

    Beautiful! Haven’t been to the beach in so long! So enjoyed seeing these:)

Leave a Reply

