Irene and Katherine

At the risk of being maudlin, I am showing you a pencil drawing of my mother (as a young child) and her sister two years (to the day) older.  I realize I am immersed in Mama and her family at the moment, I did the same thing after my father died 26 years ago.  I don’t know if it is healthy or unhealthy, but it is what I need to do right now and the book on grieving told me to do what feels right!  So…

Irene and Katherine, pencil, 8″ x 10″, done from an old photograph

I don’t normally look at a painting and start thinking,  this makes me feel (insert emotion), or doesn’t she/he/it look (insert adjective), but looking at this drawing, I am doing just that.  Irene died at such a young age (six) and when I look at her photograph, I see such innocence.  I don’t see that in Katherine even though she is two years younger.  I see intelligence in her.  And I know I am projecting my feelings into my subjects but… I see it in the photograph, also.

I think my pencil phase is over (after only two drawings!).  Looking at the above, I want to put color on these girls… just a touch somewhere.  I am not as pleased with my technique as I was in the last drawing…

You may see this again!

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Irene and Katherine”

  1. Joseph Le Says:

    I am one who believes in ” it is always healthly to follow the heart” and it is always a pleasure to view your art!

  2. joannethiemehuffmanj Says:

    I think a bit of color would be a great addition to this lovely drawing.

  3. Stephanye Peek Says:

    Lauren, in everything you touch, you amaze me, You are just so creative and use it so wisely. I admire you!

  4. Mary Says:

    Lauren, There is nothing maudlin about revisiting old pictures. We ended up with 9 milk crates of photos and other items (to say nothing of the 800 slides!) from my in-laws. We’ve spent a year looking at them, laughing and crying. It’s been healthy and healing. Your drawing is lovely. So glad you’re making art and thinking about your Mom! Mary

Leave a Reply

