painting as therapy

After being sick for a couple of months, my mother has been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and life as we know it has changed overnight.  Her doctor visits, hospital visits and health needs have become the recipient of my (and my sisters) time and not much is left over for anything else except squeezing in a visit or two to the hospital to visit my just-had-a-total-knee-replacement-brother.   While she was at my sister Donna’s house last week, I did manage to paint a mother/children portrait my cousin commissioned.  It was a good diversion.

So, what do you do when your world has been turned upside down?  How do you deal with the ordinary?  If I am away for another long period of time, I am sure you will understand.

9 Responses to “painting as therapy”

  1. NICOLA ELLIOTT Says:

    i AM SO SORRY TO HEAR YOUR BAD NEWS BABES X

  2. Karen @ Folk Haven Says:

    I am so sorry! I think you just muddle through the best you can and you practice being kinder to everyone, yourself included. If you are a person of faith you lean more heavily upon that support.

    The painting is beautiful and sure to be treasured! I hope you find opportunities for as many therapeutic pieces as possible in the midst of your new normal.

  3. Sue Schwarz Says:

    You take life an inch at a time. So sorry that this has happened. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. Joseph Le Says:

    All of our hearts & souls are with you, “Jul” & the entire family. I hope very much to come see you all soon.

  5. joannethiemehuffman Says:

    I have been praying for your mom and your family since I heard this news from Karen. You just have to handle each day as it comes.

  6. Brenda E Holmes Says:

    How do I handle it? I beg, I make deals with God like if he’ll take it away, I’ll give up years of my life because I am not needed as much as she is, I sit here in front of my computer looking at the portrait she painted of me so many years ago and think how lucky I am to have been born her niece and ,sometimes, I cry because I can’t make it go away!

  7. Elizabeth Harper Says:

    I’m so sorry to read this Lauren. I’m not sure how you even get to the everyday with such a huge challenge in front of you. I’m glad you have sisters to help with your mom’s care and be a support to each other.

    I think being able to paint during this time may help or anything else that helps you shift focus even if only briefly.

  8. Marylea Remkus Says:

    Lauren, I am so sorry…I am with you, I’ll call you this week. I love you!!! ml

  9. Mary Says:

    So very sorry to hear the news about your mother. We went through this last year with my mother-in-law. The only way out of these things is through. Unfortunately, it’s a pretty gray tunnel between here and there. You will be in my thoughts. Take care, Mary

Leave a Reply

