my muse made a brief appearance today…

When I paint on a white background, every color I place looks dark, sometime too dark.  Makes me feel so daring and bold.  Rather like Scarlett.  Then I view it at a distance and see a pale, low-contrast image and feel mousy and dull, a little like Melanie.  (Not Olivia deHavilland, mind you.  Nothing mousy about her.)  It is beneficial to put in background color as quickly as possible to enable you to match value better, but I wanted this on a white background.  I want to learn to place color and leave it!  Like Alton Brown says, “just walk away.”  It is so hard to do.

I tried to push this watercolor to the Scarlett level, she just wasn’t going to go there!

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “my muse made a brief appearance today…”

  1. Brenda Holmes Says:

    Scarlett would look you straight in the eye, not with demure cast downward eyes but I like this, it’s calming.

  2. Joseph Says:

    Beautiful piece.

  3. Bonni Says:

    From an untrained artist….I think it’s beautiful!

  4. joanne thieme huffman Says:

    I really like the way she is emerging from the background, quite lovely.

  5. Jacqueline Says:

    Your muse is working very well… beautiful!

  6. Stephanie Gentry Says:

    Oh, so lovely…

Leave a Reply

