Miscellany

Random stuff from the at-the-moment-so-completely-disarranged-studio.

Spent way too much time making elephant cards (of sort, can’t really open them up and write on them, so I wrote on the back side of the ears!) and decorating envelopes for the kids in my Sunday School class.  Just decided to have fun and enjoy the making.

I was very pleased last weekend to learn that I had received Third Place in Original Design at the 2011 Georgia Celebrates Quilt show.  This was the second time I had entered this show (you may remember my blog post).  I love the fact that I won a ribbon, wouldn’t trade it for the world, except that there were some very labor intensive, beautiful, traditional quilts there that perhaps deserved a ribbon more than mine.  My take on this is that there should be a totally separate category for art quilts vs. traditional quilting.  Original Design is maybe not definitive enough.  But the judges still thought my binding “needs improvement!”  Heck, they were lucky I bound it at all!  That was the same comment I received about my first entry 8 or 9 years ago!  I wonder if anyone has ever done a perfect binding!

See what I mean about beautiful quilts??!!!

And mine proudly holding its ribbon…

You know how you feel when you have something good happen to you and you want to share it with everyone?  Having a blog is wonderfully satisfying way to share.  Thanks for listening!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Miscellany”

  1. Sandra Bryan Says:

    Congratulations on winning your ribbon! You deserve it. What a beautiful piece.

  2. Joan Baragar Says:

    you must be so proud of yourself. I know that the art quilts are judjed much harder then the traditional ones so that is quite an achevement. They always find something you can improve don’t they. congrads. Joan

Leave a Reply

