The Four Miss Willises

There is a short story by Charles Dickens entitled The Four Sisters.  He writes of them “They seem to have no separate existence, but to have made up their minds just to winter through life together.”  I think that describes this art quilt to a tee.

The faces are those blind contour/colored pencil drawings of  some of the Agnes Scott girls done several months ago.  You can see them here.  I was playing with pebble quilting in different colors to see how it reads.  I debated whether to keep layering circle of color upon circle of color but since I had already removed about as many stitches as I put in,  I decided to stop before making any more poor choices.   The fabrics are commercial batiks (I love them!) and the size is about a 15″ square, although I am too lazy to go measure it exactly!

I have been trying to come up with a unique way of finishing the edges of art quilts.  I don’t like my options and am just not creative enough to “invent” something new!  Here I left them raw.  The applique is raw edged so why not.   I actually like the batting showing but I know it doesn’t look finished.  Anyone have a brilliant idea?

You can google and find out how The Four Sisters winter if you like.  I thought about providing a link but there are pop-ups and all…I would hate to be responsible for giving someone a virus.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “The Four Miss Willises”

  1. Joan Baragar Says:

    how about using a layer of silk and doing a deckel edge?

  2. joanne thieme huffman Says:

    I love the portraits in this quilt. If you like the unfinished look, how about just circling the edge in several rows of running stitch, right up to and even occasionally off the very edge.

  3. Julia Evatt Says:

    Maybe a blanket stitch edging. How would the MIsses Willises have done it? Must look them up–I love the quote. And I love your interpretation of them.

  4. cara Says:

    Wow, I love your work!! I just ‘found’ you and hope to be a regular on your blog.

Leave a Reply

