InStitches

I come from a family of smilers.  We nod, we laugh, we smile,  but seldom are we openly very enthusiastic.  I feel it on the inside but just cannot make my body react. That flutter of excitement stays deep, it doesn’t bubble to the surface so all the world feels excited with me.  But, forcing myself to show it, I want everyone to know that I am excited, I’VE BEEN PUBLISHED!!!

I am honored to be included in the Quilting Arts e-magazine, InStitches!  Yay for me!

Okay, settle down, enough of that.  Still smilin’ inside, though.

That upper right piece of art is mine.  In the article, I show how I use color pencils on a drawing and then turn it into fiber art using free motion machine embroidery.  I really was thrilled to be asked to contribute to this issue.  And, there are several other artists who show you their work and how to’s.  Some great stuff.  Here is the first page of my article.  I love the graphics the magazine editors/designers put together to title my work.

InStitches is now available here (at a $5 decrease, yes, I said decrease, from the last issue’s price).  It is an interactive magazine, you can click through to websites, increase picture size to study up close and even watch videos.  They managed to edit the 60 minutes of tape I sent (what is that called now that it isn’t tape?)  down to 7 minutes. It is hard watching myself talk with my hands, stuttering over words, not finding the correct one, and  sounding so so Southern.  But as my sister pointed out, I am Southern!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “InStitches”

  1. Joan Baragar Says:

    I am so happy for you and so prowd to know you. You just think you don’t bubble. You are bubbling all the time. Your sisters right though. Love joan

  2. joanne thieme huffman Says:

    Well deserved congratulations!

  3. Stephanye Peek Says:

    Congratulations, Lauren! So proud of you. I am glad you are smiling on the inside and out! You deserve, too! So glad you are sharing your creativity with us!

  4. Joseph Le Says:

    Congrats ! ! ! We are all 🙂 ing with you.

  5. Julia Evatt Says:

    You’re talking about your Evatt side, right? Your Eubanks side is bubbling over with your accomplishments. I’m so proud of you! Your mother (and your father would be too), Julia

  6. Mary Ann Says:

    Laurie, congratulations, so proud of you. That’s quite an accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

