summertime and the livin’ is…

The last couple of weeks have been filled with a variety of activities.  I have been trying to finish a t-shirt quilt for Deborah using her sorority shirts.  This is the biggest quilt I have ever made and quilting it on my little machine is not an easy task.  All that is left now is binding it (and knotting some thread ends) and she will have it!  I think it is turning out lovely.  Soon I can get my dining room back to normal and put up the extra tables!

Then I had vacation Bible school.  The group is small but the kids are so cute.  They are a lot of fun to work with.  This year the adults came to arts and crafts.  There is a difference in children attempting art and adults attempting art.  Adults start off with “I’ll never be able to do that!!!”  Kids don’t.  There is a lesson in there…

Here are a couple of cityscapes (our theme was The Big Apple).  The idea was based on this creative young man’s  blog here.   If you have preschoolers, you should bookmark that page.

We also put together a paper craft taxi cab.  Here is the traffic jam one class created.  I drew this pattern based on cars available over the internet.  Search the web for paper models or card models.  It is amazing what is available at your fingertips (if you have a computer, internet service, printer and ink).

And lastly,  I have had some architectural work to do.  Designing town homes in the low country.  Glad to see  some development starting up.  This project is small though, my work will soon be done.  There are still a lot of people whose livelihood is based on development and while the market is down, the struggle goes on, at least here in Georgia.

Tags: ,

One Response to “summertime and the livin’ is…”

  1. Deborah Warr Says:

    Laurie-

    I am so, so, so excited! The quilt looks lovely, I can’t wait to see it in person 🙂

Leave a Reply

