Couples

The snow is still quite abundant, underneath a layer of ice, but  the roads are greatly cleared around here and people are thankfully out and about.  But during that time indoors, I decided to make hand painted place mats (something too ambitious for a normal day) and cut, glued the edges back and gave a base coat to canvas.  My thought was to paint birds on them in acrylic, each one slightly different, but I struggled for  a day painting one stupid little bird and gave up.  Instead, I turned to those old photos I keep playing with.

Here are my place mats (minus the protecting polyurethane).

Thelma and T.J.

Dulcia and John

Elizabeth and Thomas

Gomer and Hosea

Three of these couples are ancestors (the top two couples are my grandparents, the third couple is a set of great-great-greats??) but the last couple is adopted.  I saw their photo in a junk/antique shop and paid for them to be in my lineage. Their names are from that infamous couple in the Bible, pictured 50 years after that story. I loved the handholding  for the photo, looks like he is still afraid she’ll run off again.

Here is a shot of how they look on a placemat.  I should have scooted them to the edge a bit more, they are partially covered by a plate!

Wouldn’t they be perfect for a Valentine table?

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Couples”

  1. joanne thieme huffman Says:

    What a great project!

  2. Melissa Stinson Says:

    What a wonderful idea!

    Could you send me that picture of Pop & Mama Evatt? I don’t recall ever seeing that one. I love the bench and their composition.

    You do amazing work!

  3. Jacqueline Satterlee Says:

    You have such wonderful ideas! I need to come back and read all your posts and get inspired!

Leave a Reply

