Beginning Felting

I finally went and bought some wool roving so I could give felting a try.  I found a Martha Stewart clip online which showed Jenn Dougherty making these sweet little felt birds.  Only poking myself once with a very sinister looking needle, I did manage to create this tiny 2″ long bird which I think is just plain ol’ cute.

I also tried my hand at wet felting.  That needs a little more practice but I have some more roving…

Remember the lyric’s “I’ll go no more a-r0ving with you fair maid”?  I understand the origin of that roving but what is the origin of calling combed out wool tresses roving?  Anyone know?

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Beginning Felting”

  1. joanne thieme huffman Says:

    You’re right, your bird is adorable.

  2. Karen Owen Says:

    That is so cute!

  3. Julia Evatt Says:

    Golly Miss Molly, if this is your first try, I can’t wait for the 10th!

  4. Julia Evatt Says:

    As to the origin of “roving,” my dictionary says “rove, the v.t., means to join and elongate, as slivers of fabric from a carding machine, by passing between rollers.” And as a noun, “a slightly twisted sliver of wool, cotton, flax, jute or silk.” Aren’t dictionaries wonderful?

Leave a Reply

