First Frost

December 19 and the two family birthdays are past, we now just need to get ready for that big one we celebrate on the 25th.  (Not that my kids birthdays aren’t big and important, you know what I mean…)  If we lived in the southern hemisphere, we could have outdoor celebrations at Christmas and with a not so big house and a not so small family, pitching a tent and putting up tables outside sounds like an ideal, if not white, Christmas.   This is said because I have a house to clean and I would rather be playing….

Wouldn’t it be fun to have the Ghost of Christmas Past  take you on a trip back in time to your earliest Christmases, just to relive that excitement and anticipation all over again?  I have a photograph of my father I just love.   Christmas morning and he is probably wired on coffee from staying up all night putting bicycles together.

The other photo is of my sister, Donna, and me taken early on the Christmas morning our parents created a new bedroom for us.  I guess we may have been around 9 and 10.  My mother sewed the daisy bedspread and curtains and they painted the room this most beautiful shade of bright blue and built the  corner desk and shelves.  Try keeping that a surprise from your kids the week before Christmas.  But, scouts honor, I didn’t peek.  At least I don’t remember peeking.

Donna is in the foreground.  She gets her wided eyed expression from Daddy.

This is what I have been working on the last couple of days when I wasn’t going though old pictures!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “First Frost”

  1. joanne thieme huffman Says:

    Great photos – full of personality. The treescape is lovely.

  2. Karen Owen Says:

    I love that photo of Daddy. I always wondered why he had that funny expression – I like your explanation. I remember that room well. I was in on the secret, and I enjoyed the excitement and the hustle as Mama and Daddy worked on it. I think my job was to keep you all out. After Christmas that year, I spent a lot of time in the room with you. It was a nice room to be in. Your frosty trees are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

