Elizabethicus Incompertus

A blogging friend and (at the time unknown) high school classmate of mine, Elizabeth Harper posted a picture of this very cute and green eyed bird here.  With her permission, I created my own version of the little guy who looks like he is desperately trying to tell us something.   The tiny dots in the background are glass seed beads and his little wing feather was created separately and attached to give it some dimension although the scanner didn’t pick up on this.

Study Elizabeth’s bird closely and if you can tell me what kind of bird it is, I would appreciate it.  I have looked at every bird picture on the world wide web and cannot find another like it.  I believe it is a new species and have thus given it the name, Elizabethicus Incompertus, after its discoverer.If my Latin name is off the mark, remember it is just for fun and blame my Latin degreed daughter who was too busy to help!

Update:  Evelyn Oldroyd knows her birds.  Read the comments for a link…

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Elizabethicus Incompertus”

  1. Evelyn Oldroyd Says:

    Hi – just had to find this bird and I think this is a noisy miner bird.
    http://www.ozanimals.com/Bird/Noisy-Miner/Manorina/melanocephala.html

    Love your vresion in stitchery.

  2. laurenfinley Says:

    Thanks, Evelyn. Mystery solved. It is definitely the Noisy Miner bird, that eye is incomparable!

  3. Karen Owen Says:

    Whatever it is, that is one cute little bird!

  4. Elizabeth Harper Says:

    Lovely version and although Evelyn is right about its name, I have to say that I do like having my own bird. Come to think of it this noisy easy people joiner and I do share a few similiar qualities, but I won’t try to steal food off your plate unless I know you and not without asking permission first.

  5. joanne thieme huffman Says:

    What amazing eyes this bird has! You made a beautiful version of your friend’s photo.

  6. steve Says:

    Wow, I love your little bird. It captures the essence of the original but does indeed seem to be in desperate desire of somthing. One of my favorites; thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

