Butterflying

Here is a “practice” butterfly.  I like it so much I have decided it is practice for the one I am committed to making for a project sponsored by the Holocaust Museum Houston called The Butterfly Effect.  (I get to keep the practice one, see???)  Anyway,   participating in The Butterfly Effect project was suggested by one of my artful sisters, Karen Owen.  Each butterfly will represent one young person or child killed in the holocaust.  That is 1,500,000 children killed!  It is such a big number but I personally  have a hard time conceptualizing how big.     Seeing 1,500,000  butterflies will have just the kind of impact it should have.

 
Okay, so maybe I should send two.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Butterflying”

  1. steve Says:

    Wow…what a wonderful idea. And I love your butterfly!

  2. joanne thieme huffman Says:

    great project.

  3. Julia Evatt Says:

    Laurie, I hadn’t realized why you made this butterfly. Now I’m overcome at the thought of all those butterflies–wish I could make one. Think I’ll write a poem. Mom

  4. Karen Owen Says:

    You are so quick! And good! I love this. Now that you put my name in here, I need to get busy on mine.

Leave a Reply

