Avocado Green and Harvest Gold

If those words bring up images of refrigerators and ranges then you must have lived during the 1970’s.   I was stitching on a little pouch today and realized I  had chosen the very same colors that during the 80’s, I (along with the rest of the American population) was anxious to eradicate from my life.

And here it is popular again.  Along with polyester and double knits.  (Have you been shopping lately????)

Let’s just hope those colored appliances stay in our distance past.

This pouch is made from cheap craft felt.  I can’t find wool felt locally and probably couldn’t afford it even if I could.  But I found the more I handled the polyester felt, the more pliable and softer it became.  I stitched it over a piece of thin cotton batting to give it some heft.

Back in the 70’s, we had red shag carpet that came with its own rake.  Covered up those ugly hardwood floors…..

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Avocado Green and Harvest Gold”

  1. joanne thieme huffman Says:

    Actually, my shag rug was orange…The purse is delightful; so cute that I didn’t even think of refrigerators.

  2. Karen Owen Says:

    Ours was orange too. Laurie was too young to remember correctly. Hey, Laurie, why don’t we make our own wool felt? I actually have some wool roving here that I bought when I took that felting class 2 or 3 years ago. Love your little pouch!

  3. laurenfinley Says:

    Thanks, Joanne.

    Karen, while it did lean toward orange, I would have to call it red. But thanks that you told everyone I was too young to remember….
    I am ready to play with your felt anytime….you can have this little pouch if you want it.

  4. Karen Owen Says:

    I do want it, and I got it! It’s even more special in person.

Leave a Reply

