An English Gatehouse

The last couple of weeks have been filled, just not with  much art.  I worked on a fiber piece (I don’t like the terms that are generally associated with this technique, wonder if I can coin a new phrase….) of a figure sitting in a chair.  I learned that you can excise a portion you do not like and patch it.  I learned that you do not wash out the stabilizer if you intend to  stitch on it more.  It spreads.  My figure’s arm grew to twice the size it originally was.  I was sad, I was liking that piece.  I guess this is to be expected if you are teaching yourself a new process.

There is something that jumps out at me when you google (when will Webster’s declare google a noun and verb?) thread painting.  It is that you should not try to copy a Vermeer in thread.  It just doesn’t work.

But, we try all things…

I tried architecture in thread.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “An English Gatehouse”

  1. joanne thieme huffman Says:

    I hate learning that kind of lesson.

  2. Karen Owen Says:

    Yes, but sometimes those lessons result in happy accidents but, unfortunately for you, not this time. However, this house is beautiful. Look at all the detail – I want to move in!

  3. Bonni Brooks Says:

    I love this gatehouse…wonderful piece of work to me!

Leave a Reply

