making fabric…

Several years ago I bought a book entitled Glorious Inspiration by Kaffe Fassett.  He wrote it for needlepoint and knitting but I feel some images interpret quite nicely in thread.   This image is taken from a section of Marcello Provenzale’s Landscape with Birds in the Pitti Palace in Florence.  I am really pleased with the texture of the thread.  It looks like old cloth!  Imagine!  Not your typical warp/weft weaving method…

The image size is 6.75″ x 5.5″ and is done in cotton threads over a wash away stabilizer.  All that remains is the cotton thread.

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “making fabric…”

  1. Karen Owen Says:

    It does like old fabric, perhaps a brocade. Whatever it looks like, it’s gorgeous.

  2. Joan Baragar Says:

    that is lovely. Are you selling them?

  3. April Harwood Says:

    I love this! I think it has my name on it! I’m with Joan….are you selling them?

  4. Bonni Brooks Says:

    This is beautiful!! But then, again, I think all of your work is amazing!

  5. Joanne Thieme Huffman Says:

    Lauren, Karen sent me over here to look at your thread painting. I’m incredibly impressed! You do absolutely beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

