Robin’s Nest

Growing up, I listened to many sermons in church on Sundays about perseverance.  Such a big word for little ears (okay, Karen and Donna, so my ears were never little) but when you pair it with the apostle Paul’s lesson on racing to the end the meaning is easily understood.  It has always been a word that catches my attention when it is said (and never fails to remind me of our beloved pastor,  Rev. L. Howard  Gordon).  Now that I am adult-ish, I realize how important perseverance is in all aspects of life.  Prayer is best answered with perseverance, exercise is only effective with perseverance,  relationships take tons of perseverance,  goals are met with perseverance and with a little perseverance you can correct and finish an a disappointing  piece of art.  The robin’s nest and eggs below were slow in coming together and I almost gave up.  I couldn’t get it right.  But, I cut away 1/3 of the image, I increased the size of the nest, I added leaves and twigs and I just kept adding thread.  I tried to put my painting lessons to use and actually used knowledge to fix it.  It is now pretty thick and stiff but I am pleased with the image.

I do wish you could see it in person, photos don’t do these thread pieces justice.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Robin’s Nest”

  1. Karen Owen Says:

    I can attest that photos do not do these pieces justice. Although this piece looks gorgeous here, I’ve seen these up close and personal, and they are stunning. I think your ears have served you well. I do not remember all those sermons about perseverance, but I wish I did.

  2. Kathy S Says:

    Your perseverance paid off! Keep on keeping on….

  3. Julia Evatt Says:

    I’m glad all the sicknesses in your household didn’t shut down your creativity. You should publish a book with all your bird art–well, with all your blog. (I’d buy several!) Julia

  4. arlijohn Says:

    Really liked this piece. Wish I could see it in person. Happy quilting!

Leave a Reply

