Sunday Afternoon on the Orient Express

I am an addict.  To mysteries anyway.  Some of my happiest moments are when there is a new mystery on Masterpiece Mystery Theater (or whatever they call it since they combined the two) on PBS.  The Masterpiece part is okay but the mysteries are great!  They have recently aired some new Hercule Poirot movies.  The older ones are less dark then the recent ones but the cinematography is beautiful in both.

A couple of weeks ago Murder On The Orient Express was aired.  I found an image toward the end of the show that I really wanted to recreate.  Knowing full well that no claim can be made on my part to this composition or color or idea, I really did it to see if I could and I am showing it to you because it is the first image in a long time I wanted to show anyone!!!  I wanted to recreate the haunting-ness of the image and I think I have managed.  Makes me think of Seraut’s Sunday Afternoon on the… with the high contrast and silhouetted figures.   Of course, the similarity ends there… or do you think thread stitches count as (1/8th inch long) point(s)illism?

Off to create a totally original piece.  Although I am not sure that is really possible.  Seems all ideas are spawned from something else.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Sunday Afternoon on the Orient Express”

  1. Joan Baragar Says:

    haunting to say the least. Very beautiful. How are you framing these beautiful pieces?

  2. Karen Owen Says:

    Wow! Definitely haunting. Can’t wait to see what you do next!

  3. Kathy S Says:

    This is great! And I don’t think it is recognizable as from any specific source, as it is changed up a lot by the medium. I think you can show it.

    I love Mystery and Masterpiece Theater both. Really the best that TV has to offer anymore!

Leave a Reply

