One potato…

I am pleased to say that I have actually had a couple of people ask what have I been doing lately so I thought I would post something.  Anything.

This little towhee is in colored pencil and is about 4″ long.

This bigger towhee is done in fabrics and is about 12″ long.

I created it with the idea of placing it in an art quilt.  I struggle with the background.  I have already ruled out two efforts.  I like the bird enough to try to get it right.  I placed it on a simple, colorless background and realized it needed more vibrancy.  I placed it on a tree and realized that  makes it look too traditionally picturesque.  I hope it will find a home in my next placement.

I am very much inspired by the art of Annemieke Mein.  I ordered her book thru Amazon and have been devouring it since its arrival.  I am very impressed by the large scale of her work and also the amount of research she puts into a piece.  It is amazing work.

Another artist whose talent is enviable is Karin Franzen.  Worth a trip to her site.

But, this is what I have really been doing.  Watching a potato sprout.  I haven’t had the heart to throw it away.  Looks like an evolving creature from the black lagoon.  Showing my true self now…..

IF is Double this week.  Think a duplicated image fits???


Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “One potato…”

  1. Julia Evatt Says:

    Laurie: I’ve got to write a poem about watching a potato sprout. I love your bird (which I saw in person) but the potato starts mental wheels going. Julia

  2. Linda Says:

    Plant the potato and you can have more of them. Both birds are nice. What about blue, green, darker green in the background in curved strips? Just an idea.

  3. Lorinda Says:

    Have to agree with Linda – that potato should be in the ground!!

Leave a Reply

