Recess

Friday morning with no plans for the weekend.  How lovely does that sound.

I have been working on finishing up those quilts I long ago mentioned.  I hope to show you soon but for now they are a surprise.  Takes time to quilt you know.  But I have played a little also.  This is based on Katherine Allen’s technique I read about in FiberArts magazine.  Very loosely based on it, using the materials I had on hand.  The first picture is a portion of what was done by painting a piece of canvas  and then placing organic collectings from my back yard on it.  With a silk screen, I squeegeed (what would be the correct term?) thinned acrylic paint thru.  Then took it to the sewing machine.  Ms. Allen’s work is so engaging, I wish I could see it in person.  I cropped the best of my piece with a mat (amazing how things look better matted and framed).

This shows almost the entire back side.  See on the left where I cropped my portion.  I like this side.

Hope your weekend is filled with pleasantness.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

