My Little Chickadee

Worked on a little thread stitching over the weekend.  Here is a little chickadee poised on a red pencil.

The above is a detail scan.  I thought you might like to see it up close and as personal as the computer allows.  Each stitch is about 1/8″ long.  I would venture to guess in this little 4.5″ x 5″ piece, there are over 50,000 stitches.  That means about 12,500 inches of thread (top and bobbin included) or about 1042 feet of thread.  If there are 5280 feet in a mile, this unraveled would be almost 2/10ths of a mile.  Wow.  (I say that with great sarcasm.  I was just curious is why I bothered with the calculations.)

Working on a little architecture over the upcoming week.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “My Little Chickadee”

  1. Elizabeth Harper Says:

    Love this one especially the flowers at the bottom.

  2. Joan Baragar Says:

    too much information. You never have to explain art. Just look mysterious and do the mona L. smile.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Quite lovely – I love the flowers at the bottom as well, but smile greatly over the red pencil! Where did that idea come from??? (I enjoyed your info on the amount of thread – it’s always interesting to know what goes into making something!)

Leave a Reply

