The answer?????

Another nest egg.

Ever wonder how that pair of words came to represent what we think of today?  Me neither, until I wrote that so I looked it up on my favorite online etymology dictionary and this is what it read…

nest (n.) Look up  nest at Dictionary.com
O.E. nest “bird’s nest, snug retreat,” from P.Gmc. *nistaz (cf. M.L.G., M.Du., Ger. nest), from PIE *nizdo- (cf. Skt. nidah “resting place, nest,” L. nidus “nest,” O.C.S. gnezdo, O.Ir. net, Welsh nyth, Bret. nez “nest”), probably from *ni “down” + *sed- “sit.” Used since M.E. in ref. to various accumulations of things (e.g. a nest of drawers, early 18c.). The verb is O.E. nistan, from P.Gmc. *nistijanan. Nest egg “retirement savings” is from 1700, originally “a real or artificial egg left in a nest to induce the hen to go on laying there” (1606).

Perhaps if I continue to paint nests and eggs, some hen will lay retirement savings in it.  Or on it. ????
I told my husband this settled the question of which came first, the chicken or the egg (referring to the egg falling from heaven)  and he responded  “Then who built the nest?”  I guess the query continues.
Tags:

One Response to “The answer?????”

  1. Elizabeth Harper Says:

    One of my favorite books before my internet days was one that listed the origin of words or phrases. Nest egg is a new one for me having never looked before. With so many people around me now raising chickens for their eggs, I must ask them if they ever have ever left a nest egg in the hen house.

Leave a Reply

