This and That

My pastel received an honorable mention at the Rome Art Coterie!!!  I was honored and pleased;  it was in great company!  The juror was there and explained why she chose the top 8.  It was very informative, a little awkward (I just don’t handle compliments very well) and quite satisfying.  Maybe I am an artist after all….

Yesterday was spent doing fun stuff with the First Friday Play artists.  We made floor cloths (or doggie placemats because it won’t cover much floor).    All it needs now is 5 coats of polyurethane.And for you readers (I know there are at least two!) in the Cherokee County, Georgia area, go by and get a cup of coffee at It’s a Grind in Holly Springs.  You will get a great cup of coffee AND get to see some birds and bugs I have painted over the last few months.  You have seen most of them here but this is your chance to see them in person!  Susan Wright hung the paintings on the wall in close to perfect symmetry placing my favorite moth in the middle.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “This and That”

  1. tommye scanlin Says:

    Congratulations, Lauren!
    And thanks for showing the wall of bugs and birds… looks great. I love a good cup of coffee; just wish I were closer and could see your work in person and enjoy a cup of coffee, too.

  2. Melody Says:

    Laurie, I am so proud for you!!!! This recognition is so well deserved!!! You are one of the most talented people I know!!!

  3. Karen Owen Says:

    Congratulations! Of course, I’m not surprised. Susan’s arrangement of your paintings looks fabulous.

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Congrats! You are an artist as far as I’m concerned!

  5. Vivi Says:

    That’s awesome. Congratulations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

