More Inspiration

Girls like tools, too.  I, for one, love my sewing machine.  It uses power and has sharp moving parts.  As much a tool as anything my husband has.  After years of sewing on Singers and even working at a Singer store during college, I bought myself a Bernina.   Even after 6 or 7 years, it is so wonderful to sew on, no problems like I always had with Singer.   Sewing can be fairly boring, but if you drop the feed dogs and start stitching while you control the position of the fabric with your hands, then sewing can be your paint brush and becomes so very much fun.

I went the the American Arts Council Craft show at the Galleria over the weekend.  There were so many wonderful artists there.  One artist, Natalia Margulis, worked with free hand machine embroidery that was simply fabulous.  I wish I could have afforded to buy one of her pieces (and about 100 other artist’s pieces).  But, I found her website so we can see her creations.  I think this is the best use of the internet.  Looking at art.

I came home and tried free hand machine embroidery.  I had some beginner’s luck and did the tree on the book cover first.  It was the best I did.  I did the bird next (which actually looks better in person than in the photo) and the house last.

The bird and house are done on water soluble stabilizer.  It dissolves after you have stitched on it  which leaves only the thread.  The book’s cover is done on linen making it a little more stable.  I had better control of the stitch, that’s why you get a bigger picture.  If you look thru the book you see the next with tiny eggs in it.  The eggs are about 1/4″ wide.  The book binding has tapes, I have never done that before and looking at the book, it is obvious.  It might go to Jasper for their upcoming Birdhouse auction but I may be too late.  They said to be creative in my interpretation of a birdhouse.

There were  over 200 artists there.  A lot to be inspired by.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “More Inspiration”

  1. Janet Granger Says:

    I really love the tree with the nest – that’s just so creative! And very well done, too. Gorgeous colours.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    I am so impressed – good for you to get home and just jump in – those look magnificent!

  3. Karen Owen Says:

    Wow, Laurie! Is there anything you can’t do?

  4. Kathy Spoering Says:

    These are wonderful! Have you seen Carol Shinn’s machine stitched art? It is truly amazing! http://www.carolshinn.com/

  5. Amanda J Wells Says:

    Fantastic! thanks

Leave a Reply

