First Friday Fun

I met with those wonderful women for our First Friday gathering this morning.  We made paper beads and turned them into necklaces.  Carol brought a wonderful necklace she wanted to duplicate and as adorable as it was, I wanted to make one too.  This is mine using materials on hand.

Look closely at the boot on the right.  If you can see it clearly enough and know what it is, please tell me.  I found two of these and a few other doo dads a long time ago  in my father-in-law’s collection of everything.  I think it may be lead.  If I keep it out of my mouth, do you think I am safe in wearing it?

The beads were created just by rolling strips of paper onto a skewer and gluing the end.  For a black edge, take the bead in stamp it onto an ink pad.  Then string beads and trinkets onto it, run the string thru the tube at the top and add beads on the other side.  The beads move freely but aren’t able to pull back thru the tube.   The one Carol had used ribbons for this , I used colored cotton strings.

I did my best to rid my studio of all jewelry making supplies today.   I have to cull my stash of  extraneous crafting stuff.  Someday my studio will be as I envision it in my dreams…..

Tags:

4 Responses to “First Friday Fun”

  1. Karen Owen Says:

    This is such a cute necklace! So, I googled lead charms and safety. If you just wear it, you are fine, but I wouldn’t wear it when you work with the children at church. I’m going to e-mail you a pdf with facts I found.

  2. maria Says:

    I think that shoe is from an old monopoly set…..one of the tokens you move around the board……. what do you think?

  3. Jennifer Says:

    The necklace is precious!

    If it will make you feel better, you can get a lead test kit from Lowe’s…

    http://www.lowes.com/pd_41581-1168-5250-12_0_?productId=3166619&Ntt=lead&Ntk=i_products

  4. Joan Baragar Says:

    I agree with the game piece. looks like one to me. Did you find some top hats with that?
    What did you do with your beeding supplies? Carol and I were talking about you today and decided since you were dispersing the wonderful craft stuff you could store it at our homes to be returned when needed, it any is left that is. wonderful seeing you and you answered my question. Which crafter was your fav. Did you see the jackets and vests with the free form sewing imbossed on them?

Leave a Reply

