Adrift

For Illustration FridayAdrift.  An exercise in idleness, something I don’t really have time for at the moment .  But what better way to spend St. Valentine’s Day than to be idle.  Hmmm, wonder how this differs from most evenings.  I guess this is an advantage to not having young children.   Your evenings are your own.

I have a confession.  I love plastic, mechanical toys.  I have bought  hippos, horses, ducks, elephants, frogs and more under the pretense of gifts for my son and daughter but the truth is,  I cannot pass them by.  The simplicity of  pulling a string or twisting a knob to make something move is just brilliant.  No batteries or electricity or computer chip needed. The Flying Pig, Yamaha Paper Craft and Canon Creative Craft all  have mechanical paper toys (and other stuff) you can download to print and make yourself.   Takes a bit of time but so worth the smile that comes to your face when you actually see your toy work.

Call me a Luddite if you like.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Adrift”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I would be excited too!

  2. Indigene Says:

    I’m with you too! I love what they now call old fashion toys! Lovely duck, it reminds me of the lovely time at bathing when my children were toddlers! Thanks for that walk down memory lane! Lovely imagery!

Leave a Reply

