Bits and Pieces

I collect paper.  One glance around my studio and you would agree.  I like doing things with paper, especially cutting it.  After the paper has morphed into whatever… I have no idea what to do with it, so I end up with a large collection of paper. 

I’ve been going thru stuff and have culled out some bits and pieces.  Thought I would share them with you.

Paper snowflakes hand cut from 4″squares of paper, misted with red paint.  The natural one and the really dark red one have been coated in beeswax.  Makes them translucent, less fragile and they smell nice.  I cut several of these last year and wired them onto my Christmas tree.  Lights reflecting off the wax is very pretty.

Artist Trading Cards which I have never traded.  Some kind soul once felt sorry for me and gave me one of hers but these (the only ones I have ever created) didn’t exist at the time.  That one plus these means I have 6 ATC’s.  My favorite part of these (which doesn’t show very well in the photo) is that I punched tiny holes in them and then used embroidery floss and simple stitches to border and accent.  The faces are printed copies of my watercolour faces. 

Fern silhouettes and a little sitting girl cut from computer collaged paper and waxed with beeswax.

 Silhouettes in black.

  A linocut print and watercolor of the same face. 

A hand cut paper doily.  Sometimes I have too much time on my hands.

 A paper doll made into a card.

Another card with a cut silhouette.   I guess I can do something with those pieces.  Sometimes.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Bits and Pieces”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    With you facination with paper, you may enjoy this collage artist that works in paper.

    http://elizabethsthilairenelson.blogspot.com/

  2. laurenfinley Says:

    Thanks Jennifer, her work is unbelievable. Thinking I have to start tearing paper now….

  3. Ratu Lakhsmita Indira Says:

    thank you very much for your sweet comment the other day ^^
    wow, you’re so creative indeed!
    i like the paper doll made into a card, specially the pattern dress. How pretty!

Leave a Reply

