Practice makes…. better? I hope.

I am practicing my watercolour and drawing.  Here are three I have done the last 2 days.  I am trying to make people not look so static.  Hard to do in my opinion.  Guess I need to take some life drawing classes, I haven’t done any in a long time. 

A  few funny situations regarding life models… (names have been omitted to protect the innocent) –

A friend took a life class and during the break, the young male model came up to her and said “Hi, remember me?  I was in high school with your daughter.” 

While at a party, another artist was asked out by a model she had drawn a year or so prior.  Although flattered, she declined the offer.

I was in the store and went to checkout and recognized the woman working there.   Guessing she looked more familiar to me than I did to her.  I had painted her a few times, with and without clothes. 

You can probably get use to it, but having grown up in a very modest household I am not sure I will live long enough to handle with ease the awkwardness an encounter with a naked person brings.  Really good thing I didn’t decide to be  a doctor.Girl-with-CatTwo-Little-Girls-at-a-TableGirl-with-Bird

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Practice makes…. better? I hope.”

  1. Elizabeth Harper Says:

    I love these Lauren…they may me think of book illustrations.

    I took one art class in college and had to adjust to naked models in the life drawing portion…it was an interesting experience. 🙂

  2. Jennifer Says:

    I think this are lovely also. As far as dynamic, they do cause me to pause and wonder what is about to happen or has just happened – especially the two girls. They are almost interested. Is there about to be a ah-ha momnet???

  3. kay salem Says:

    I’ve looked at most of your work and would have wanted to comment on all of it, but that would take hours. I love it all!!! You are one of the most creative people I’ve ran across. So much digital art these days, you really break the barrier of embracing NEW ways to express yourself. I think the watercolors are beautiful, soft and sensitive. So much nice work here!

Leave a Reply

