The Twins

I recently scanned and posted on Facebook over 200 photographs that my grandfather, T.J. Eubanks made of his 8 children.  He would photograph them and develop the photos in his darkroom.  I know that every generation venerates the generations before them, I certainly have.  Seems dying takes away all bad and leaves only good.  (I pray my descendants feel the same about me!)  These photos are very small only 1 to 2 inches by 2 to 3 inches, he created larger copies of those he felt were the best and those are well known among the family,  but after spending time with these small images, I am convinced they are the most honest  portraits of his children.  Some may not be focused, or one of the kids may have moved, or the composition was not his best (and T.J. was good at composition!) but they tell the story of childhood and I am so happy to have them!  And…now they are inspiring me.  Those last couple of posts on this blog were based on these photographs as is the one below… my twin aunts, T.J.’s baby girls.

IMG_20140202_0004This is done in pencil, image size about 4×6 inches.  I scanned it at 600 dpi and reduced the scale for posting, this boring information given in an effort to ask for help.  How do you get pencil to scan at a good quality?  Anyone know?

My grandfather would say “take a photograph with film instead of using digital!”

Tags: ,

One Response to “The Twins”

  1. randomrose Says:

    What a wonderful gift you have been given with all the photos. This is a beautiful drawing but sorry I for one cannot help with the scanning..tricky business this technology sometimes. I do find by taking a photo with my (yes Grandfather – digital camera) it does look better than a scan when I upload them after I have done a little manipulation to darken or shadow or whatever. I am by no means good at this, just my way. Actually in this case I like the drawing the way it is as it give that faded aged look. I thought for a moment you were going to say your Grandfather did it so there you go, you are your Grandfather’s Granddaughter…talented.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

