soft rocks

My daughter went to Camp Juliette Low pretty much every summer of her childhood and teen years.  It is located in NW Georgia which has a geology of its own.  I love that area of Georgia.  CJL has a huge plane of flat rock that the girls gather on.  Not that CJL girls play with dolls at camp, but I think it would be such imaginative fun to have little dolls, tiny cars and houses on that dimpled, bumpy terrain that they call “soft rocks.”  (picture here) Maybe that is why I never went to camp…

These soft rocks are of a different sort.  I followed a tutorial by artist/blogger Lisa Jordan at lil fish studios,  here.  It worked like a charm and I tried to tell her so on her blog but those new captcha’s they have will not recognize my typed letters.  Very frustrating, Blogger.

Grainy picture taken by my son, Taylor, on his new camera at night with no light.  Amazing.

Update- I didn’t give you very much info on this post.  These soft rocks are covered in wool felt, that is what makes them soft.  The rock is still inside.  I think they would be great bases for my felted birds.  I embroidered them with the rock inside, it isn’t difficult.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “soft rocks”

  1. folkhavenkaren Says:

    Those eggs are pure loveliness! Did you make the nest or is it a real nest you have saved from a past season?

    I am also constantly frustrated by Bloggers captcha… I hope the situation improves soon because there are so many people that deserve to be given thanks for sharing great stuff, but I can’t get the messages through!

  2. joannethiemehuffman Says:

    I like your soft rocks and I, too, dislike the Blogger captcha.

  3. don’t judge me by the color of my wool… « Lauren Finley's Blog Says:

    [...] I guess  stance and beret make a man more than color… He is 5.5 inches tall, standing on a “soft rock” and his beret is an acorn [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

